Uncategorized

Halloween Film Fest 2016

I adore any excuse to sit down with a good film and Halloween is a great one to attempt sticking to a specific genre.

The weather here has changed from the gorgeous warmth of summer and it really feels like autumn – time for snuggling under a blanket, drinking copious amounts of tea and spending the day in the comfiest clothes you own. If these are pyjamas I certainly won’t be judging you!

Given that Halloween falls on a Monday this year I decided to use the weekend for my movie marathon, putting together some of my favourite scary or Halloween-ish films and watching them back to back!

Great idea? Terrible idea?

There are mountains of snacks involved so I’m going with great idea.

image

Did I grab enough food?

My biggest problem has been deciding which of the mountain of DVDs I own to watch during this too brief a time – maybe I should have given a month over to this mammoth task rather than two days.

image

So,  what am I looking for in a Halloween movie?
– Murder
– Ghosts
– Zombies, Aliens & Other misc creatures or crazies
– Something scary (but not too scary – I’m a right proper wimp sometimes)

If anything,  I had far too much to choose from but I’ve narrowed down my list considerably; the rest I’ll have to save for next time!

Finally after a grueling few hours (really!) this is what I will be watching for my first Halloween Movie Marathon:
– Diagnosis Murder (Series 1 episodes)
– Resident Evil (the start of an amazing series)
– Arsenic and Old Lace (hilarious dark comedy)
– Young Frankenstein (no reason required)
– Beetlejuice (love this film so much)
– The Ghost and Mrs Muir (a non traditional choice but fitting, yes?)
– The Nightmare Before Christmas (because I’ve never actually seen it!)
– The Rocky Horror Picture Show (can’t have Halloween without it!)
– Hocus Pocus  (just because.)

Are there any Halloween films you would have added to the last or any Halloween films you love? Let me know!

Leave a comment